[Author Prev][Author Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Author Index][Thread Index]

Re: OT: ATM Blackhole listed and SPAM




> > Funny? Hm, I don't even read them anymore! Too many!
> > How do you know it is spam from the list?
> > True, the amount has dramatically increased in the
> > last months.
> >
> Exactly, thats what I was wondering ! How do one
> know the spam is due to this list. I also agree that
> last month the spam mails have increased heavily
> to my yahoo inbox, coincidentally(?) just after
> joining the list.

Here is the header from the latest spam that seems to be forwarded through
the ATM list
----
Return-Path: <620yaqizz@geocities.com>
Received: from funhouse.systems.pipex.net (funhouse.systems.pipex.net
[62.241.160.71])
 by sindbad (Cyrus v2.1.13) with LMTP; Thu, 15 Jan 2004 08:37:26 +0000
X-Sieve: CMU Sieve 2.2
X-Envelope-To: chris_group_mail@dsl.pipex.com
Received: from aquarium.shore.net (aquarium.shore.net [207.244.124.7])
 by funhouse.systems.pipex.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9737B2400207;
 Thu, 15 Jan 2004 08:37:25 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from smtp2.primushost.com ([209.58.220.66])
 by aquarium.shore.net with esmtp (brought to you by Exim)
 id 1Ah0ur-0003MK-00; Thu, 15 Jan 2004 01:23:41 -0500
Received: from c-24-130-125-1.we.client2.attbi.com [24.130.125.1]
 by smtp2.primushost.com with smtp (Exim)
 id 1Ah2RN-0004pP-Kb; Thu, 15 Jan 2004 03:01:22 -0500
Received: from [69.100.136.30] by c-24-130-125-1.we.client2.attbi.com with
ESMTP id <773706-53153>; Thu, 15 Jan 2004 05:54:27 -0200
Message-ID: <5b0kv84r$00uot$n6v6p@0k6j.4zk.blfsf>
From: "Susanna Wiley" <620yaqizz@geocities.com>
Reply-To: "Susanna Wiley" <620yaqizz@geocities.com>
To: atm-outgoing@aquarium.shore.net
Cc: <atm@aquarium.shore.net>
Subject: Men Last and Last with multiple O's ! max ksrysxuwssr d
Date: Thu, 15 Jan 04 05:54:27 GMT
X-Mailer: eGroups Message Poster
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
 boundary="_._42F____7147C"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
------
I'm not an expert on this and I am aware that to and from addresses can be
forged but the prevalence of aquarium.shore.net  in the various addresses
does make it look as if this is coming via the ATM mail server.

I find it a little amusing that this group, which is so keen to avoid any
taint of commercialism or advertising, should be stuck with this.

Chris