[Author Prev][Author Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Author Index][Thread Index]

Re: [APML] OT: Spam prevention?



It is irrelevant whose name appears as the sender - the virus on the
affected computer is disguising itself by pretending to be a person it finds
in the affected computer's address book. Very upsetting for folks whose
names get used to be implicated. I am sure it is not Rob's computer sending
the messages.

Stuart
----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Alan Voetsch" <alanv12952@yahoo.com>
To: "Discussion of Film Astrophotography" <astro-photo@seds.org>
Sent: Sunday, May 22, 2005 1:17 PM
Subject: RE: [APML] OT: Spam prevention?


> All,
>
> Just now as I went through the spam in my bulk mail folder, I saw
> another one with the suject line; "The whore lived like a German". This
> one was from 'robgendler@worldatt.net (or an address very close to
> that). Does this mean that Rob's computer has been taken over, or that
> a virus has gotten hold of his address book?
>
> I've seen this subject line dozens of times in the last 2 weeks but
> don't pay much attention to where it comes from, I know the address
> changes constantly. Is it significant that this one used Rob's address?
> And I wonder if you guys will get stuff from me, or someone else on the
> list.
>
> Alan
>
>
>
> SCT Astrophotography: http://www.pbase.com/avoetsch/astrophotography
> FS-102 G-11/Gemini: http://www.pbase.com/avoetsch12952/tak_fs102
> & http://www.pbase.com/avoetsch12952/fs102
> & http://www.pbase.com/avoetsch12952/takpf
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
> http://mail.yahoo.com
> _______________________________________________
> Astro-Photo mailing list
> Astro-Photo@seds.org
> http://seds.org/mailman/listinfo/astro-photo

_______________________________________________
Astro-Photo mailing list
Astro-Photo@seds.org
http://seds.org/mailman/listinfo/astro-photo