[Author Prev][Author Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Author Index][Thread Index]

Re: [APML] OT message to Kent Kirkley



Robert,

What may actually be happening is that a spammer is using AOL's mail 
servers to
send messages as a swbell.net user. I've had received messages of 
bounces for
emails that I have not sent coming from the AOL Postmaster. After 
forwarding
these messages to both AOL and Earthlink abuse accounts, they stop for 
a while.
(I am an earthlink customer.) I will not mention the contents of these 
messages.
Let's just say they are not trying to sell me optical equipment.

Taras

On Monday, May 19, 2003, at 12:44  AM, Robert Reeves wrote:

> Sorry to use the list for this, but I need to backdoor a message to 
> Kent
> Kirkley.
>
> Kent,
>
> I have tried to reply to your email to me, but some sack of $&*^ is 
> using
> the Southwestern Bell domain name to send tons of spam to AOL, 
> therefore ALL
> email from swbell.net to AOL has been blocked tonight.  It usually 
> takes
> about 24 hours for such blocks to be dropped.  Occasionally I can not 
> post
> to APML at all for the same reason.  swbell.net does not seem 
> interested in
> doing anything about the mass spammer that shuts down our domain.
>
> Robert Reeves
>
--
                         <end of message>
******************************************************************
* Taras R. Hnatyshyn                     tarashnat@earthlink.net *
*    http://homepage.mac.com/tarashnat/astrophoto/welcome.html   *
*  73°59'18.4"W 40°43'37.2"N    or    74°25'24.4"W 41°40'42.0"N  *
******************************************************************


_______________________________________________
Astro-Photo mailing list
Astro-Photo@seds.org
http://seds.org/mailman/listinfo/astro-photo