[Author Prev][Author Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Author Index][Thread Index]
Re: [APML] Earlier virus emails
Just to add to the "fun", seds.org was hacked about four or five days
ago. The buggers may have snatched the names/addresses of list members
and other such information when they were there. Anyone who will hack
and butcher a website will most likely take the same pleasure in
e-mailing viruses out to people.
George Anderson
Montreal Canada
Clear skies and good health
"Franklin A. Holub" wrote:
>
> That particular IP is a static IP, but , any more, who knows! The internet is more like the "Wild West" then most realize. I have static IP's and run my own servers, The logs from my firewall record over one thousand(!) probes from virus laiden computers and hackers EVERY DAY! The moral of the story is keep your firewalls ON and your antivirus software up to date!
>
> Frank
> http://www.my-spot.com
>
> Original Message -----------------------
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
>
> >>>>> "Franklin" == Franklin A Holub <lists@my-spot.com> writes:
>
> Franklin> I have a cool trace program that came with McAfee a
> Franklin> couple of revs ago that I can trace the origins of IP's
> Franklin> and URL's. Looks like the
> Franklin> adsl-64-169-168-33.dsl.snfc21.pacbell.net address traces
> Franklin> back to Miravalle Foods Inc - possibly in South El
> Franklin> Monte, CA...
>
> Most adsl lines are dynamic IP. Not necessarily (mine isn't), that's
> why I didn't put much stock in the exact IP. Additionally, even
> though Steve and Ralph may not be in the San Fran area, pacbell seems
> to have assigned them an IP that corresponds to that POP. Why, I
> dunno. Also, Steve's IP isn't always the same; from my search back
> through my 3-month cache, it has a few different parts to the
> adsl-XX.... So I ignored that.
>
> I don't know how the list guards it's incoming mail. My mail will
> resolve back to my domain since I pay my ISP for that. Anyone with
> dynamic IPs won't.
>
> I'm not going to get too worried about it unless we get a more of
> these. Unfortunately, as Bill points out, pac bell is damn near a
> spam haven :-(
>
> roland
> - --
> PGP Key ID: 66 BC 3B CD
> Roland B. Roberts, PhD RL Enterprises
> roland@rlenter.com 6818 Madeline Court
> roland@astrofoto.org Brooklyn, NY 11220
>
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> Version: 2.6.3ia
> Charset: noconv
> Comment: Processed by Mailcrypt 3.5.4, an Emacs/PGP interface
>
> iQCVAwUBQTFJSOoW38lmvDvNAQFqlAQAkCnYSrhCdhMkWkEgiWYotXUkZ79xD9dF
> ayE/K3n8d5WSvFv9mahJD7b3O+Cut5eFM4yWiY06R2chhxjppGHCEchnJQ6aCZWR
> s+yXpRPX5Q244QCI0lU5EvZO3dI9nhzkqgwxIY/zLVraGBTvhmsqD8VsxQvVEYVt
> sZS/FBpH2Cw=
> =aujX
> -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
> _______________________________________________
> Astro-Photo mailing list
> Astro-Photo@seds.org
> http://seds.org/mailman/listinfo/astro-photo
>
> _______________________________________________
> Astro-Photo mailing list
> Astro-Photo@seds.org
> http://seds.org/mailman/listinfo/astro-photo
_______________________________________________
Astro-Photo mailing list
Astro-Photo@seds.org
http://seds.org/mailman/listinfo/astro-photo